Recording on A Linux PC

This is the place to discuss technical issues and seek advice

Moderators: lo&m, Moshe

Post Reply
Thunderbird

Recording on A Linux PC

Post by Thunderbird » Tue Jan 22, 2008 4:47 pm

Has anyone any experience of recording on a Linux system.

I knw my way around Windows systems pretty well but Linux is a new area.

I don't particularly want to make multi track recording as you would on Cubase etc.

Is there a basic recorder / editor / with compression CD burning etc available for Ubuntu 7 and how do you install it?

Any comments appreciated

User avatar
Richardson-County
Full Member
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 10:44 am
Location: Mersea Island, Essex. The Rhinestone County.
Contact:

Post by Richardson-County » Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:10 am

HI T'Bird an' I have'nt got a clue so if anyone who can give us any gen on just how to record using a PC based program then I'm onboard. I use Mixcraft but am just getting to know it so to speak. My main difficulty is getting my voice loud enough on the vocal track. How do you set up the vocal side of things on a PC ??. I can get the Bkg Trak/guitar loud enough on their respective tracks without having to tweak parameters too much but have big headaches with the vocal using a SM58 mic and Realteck Soundcard etc.

rgds

Brian

User avatar
Dixie
Moderator
Posts: 3213
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 12:03 pm
Location: Sitting in front of the Computer

Post by Dixie » Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:15 am

Hi T/Bird - know nothing about Linux so can't really help.

Brian - you need a pre-amp on your mic. Try going into your Behringer desk with the microphone first.
Neil

Thunderbird

Post by Thunderbird » Mon Feb 11, 2008 7:26 pm

Thanks for the replies guys,

I guess for the moment I'll have to stay with my 4 track tape machine.

Linux doesn't seem to have many experts around at the moment.

User avatar
John Stannard
Supreme Member
Posts: 1911
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Post by John Stannard » Thu Mar 26, 2009 8:22 pm

Thunderbird, only just found this thread again.

If you are using Linux then try a prog called 'Ardour', if you are used to ProTools on the Mac it will look very familiar and it comes with some great plug ins free, try the link.

http://ardour.org/

If you get on with it you really ought to think about the Mac though, Linux is fine and dandy but when you are relying on 'PC grade' hardware it's not such a joke.

Try it and good luck.

Post Reply